FWKL 1301- week 3- Placement Choice

My top three choices for field placement were the Port Hope Archives, the Cobourg Municipal Offices and the Cobourg Public Library because they are the closest to home for me. I was most excited to work in the Archives, my first choice, because I know the least about that option for a Library and Information Technician graduate. I also was interested in the Archives because I believe I would be very happy working somewhere similar in the future. But, I did not end up getting my first choice and was instead placed at the Cobourg Public Library; even though this was not my first or second choice, I am still excited and happy that it is close to home.

Whether I received my first choice or my last choice I knew that I would be learning a lot in my placement. Because I have no experience working in a library or a library-like setting, I was really thrilled about getting the opportunity to learn from someone in the field. I am most definitely a hands-on learner as well, so this chance to get out of the classroom and into the field to see the practices we’ve learned in use will really benefit me. I hope my placement goes well (I’m sure it will) and I can’t wait to begin!

Leave a Reply

